ReOrganization


Lake transport with Rachel, Mike and Lisa aboard (photo by Lisa Braden)

San Pedro has two docks, one at each end of town, where boats service the surrounding lake towns. I´m heading to Panajachel this morning, and declined a launcha that stops at all the towns in favor of a direct that takes 20 minutes. And then realized I´d have to wait 45 for the direct. Tough break, because now I have to sit in the sun at the dock, have a coffee, and do some blog catch up.

Panajachel market

The ride across the lake is incredible. The water is as smooth as glass, the sky has clouds breaking the monotony of a breathtaking blue. I sit in the front and just enjoy it. Panajachel is the town on  Lake Atitlan closest to Guatemala City, the gateway to this little part of the world. It´s a market town, catering to aid workers and tourists. After a short walk it becomes apparent that all the stores carry similar items, and that I will be approached every 30 seconds by an old woman or young boy selling something truly amazing, absolutely incredible, and for a good price for you, señora. After an hour of this I was fried. I had gone over to find shoes that I could use for my salsa lessons, since I was endangering myself and every dancing partner with my hiking boots, which are heavy and do not slide well. Also, four short-sleeve shirts are not enough for seven weeks. It works in theory, yes, but it´s been two weeks now and I find I’m still a little too attached to variety in my clothing.

Typical café

It took about half an hour to figure out how to get home. I was thinking to myself what I´d like to do in the afternoon, and realized that all of my organs have been in the same position for my entire life. Time to shake things up! So I got in a boat back to San Pedro, the direct, and it turns out that the captain has fantasies of being a speed boat racer. The lake gets rough every afternoon, and when you combine waves with speed, our little boat flew out of the lake and back down, with a smash, every 45 seconds. Like hard enough that if it happened in your car you´d head over to the hospital to make sure everything was okay. For half an hour.

Cobblestone streets. Of death. (photo by Lisa Braden)

After docking in San Pedro, I decided that my internal re-organ-ization was not yet complete. Being a total lazy-ass, I took a tuk tuk to my side of town. Another 10-minute ride over cobblestone streets rife with ditches. It´s a feeling like no other, and I suggest you live vicariously regarding this experience rather than trying it yourself. Definitely a fun-one-time adventure.

Tonight I´m going to study a bit and get used to where my lungs are now. Good news is that my head and heart are really close together.

About ThesePartsUnknown

I write, I travel, I make art.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Guatemala, Health, Ordinary Life, Travel, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ReOrganization

  1. Misty says:

    Sounds like a rough ride! But makes for a great story.

    Salsa lessons, eh? Brave girl. You might need to get a pretty red dress!

    Hope you’re having a blast!

  2. Enjoying your blog…how about some pictures?

Leave a Reply

