Camera Shy


Lake at sunrise (photo by Lisa Braden)

“No matter how slow the film, Spirit always stands still long enough for the photographer It has chosen.” ~Minor White

Some will be happy to see that previous blog entries are New! and Improved! with photographs. Even I must agree that visuals vastly enhance the posts. Some of them were actually taken by me, and there are many incredible contributions from friends, who went through the effort of carrying their cameras around and remembering to use them.

Good photography takes time and patience. I’ve taken photography courses, played in the darkroom, and watched talented artists at work enough to appreciate the energy that goes into making an image. I have spent hours making a drawing, months building sculptures, and years designing a house; the capacity is in me. It takes me an hour to write something that can only partially describe what a photo can do in a moment. But when I’m using the camera lens to describe a scene, it feels contrived, and never seems to capture what I’m feeling at the moment.

Fisherman at sunrise (photo by Lynne Davidson)

For the last three weeks of my time in San Pedro I was awake before dawn (really!) My window overlooked the lake, so I could lay in bed and watch the sun rise. How hard would it have been to have had the camera on the nightstand, and snapping a lazy shot each day — or even once? Fortunately, Lynne and Lisa have a stunning collection of photographs that they’re willing to share, and I am ever grateful.

I’m torn now. Based on the photos I took this trip, I may not bring the camera next time. Or I could experiment and see where the photographic road leads.

About ThesePartsUnknown

I write, I travel, I make art.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Guatemala, Photography, Travel, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Camera Shy

  1. Good to hear from you. Beautiful photos.
    Glad to hear all is going well.
    ME

Leave a Reply

