Viva, Las Vegas!


One of the entries to the magical land of the Osa Pennisula is Las Vegas. It is on the crocodillo-rich Rio Sierpe. The town of this gateway, Sierpe, consists of a pharmacy, a little market, and a few adventura vendors. Las Vegas has the feel of airport-meets-frontier town. Tourists pour in by taxi, bus, shuttle and boat. Coffee and fruit drinks settle the looks of confusion. Which boat? When? Where am I? Why am I doing this?

I´m disappointed in myself. I´ve had enough travel days to know everything sorts itself out: the boat captain knows the routine, the shuttle driver wants to pick up his fare and be paid. There is a system, just one foreign to my experience. If the shuttle goes without me there are other ways north, by bus or thumb.

About ThesePartsUnknown

I write, I travel, I make art.
This entry was posted in Costa Rica, Travel, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

